Week 1: What is Social Informatics?

That is a very good question.  After my first 590 class, I have had a week to ponder that question.  I do not know if this makes any sense, but I seem to understand what Social Informatics is due more to the discussion of the topics we will cover than our initial readings.  Of course Dr. Potnis’ PowerPoint really helped my understanding.  I understand that Social Informatics is the study of Information and Communication Technologies, and how those technologies affect society.

Because we are an ever growing technology-dependent society, I am glad to know that we will also be discussing, the adverse effects of this dependence along with the positive, and how there are ethics involved.  I am interested to see if we will discuss any privacy issues concerning the role technology plays in our personal lives as well as society as a whole, and whether the availability of information and communication technologies can, has, or will have any detrimental affects on our lives.

This entry was posted in Social Informatics and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Week 1: What is Social Informatics?

  1. APA says:

    I agree with the idea that our society is becoming more and more technology dependent. The effects this is having on our social relationships and other areas of our lives is interesting to me. I have found that more times than not research is indicating that social networking sites are negatively impacting our society. I think if we can emphasis positive uses for these sites through education and community trainings through libraries and workplaces we can utilize them in a more positive role in our society.

  2. Pingback: Tech hiring on upswing due to personal informatics | Tim Batchelder.com

  3. I also agree that our society is becoming more and more dependent, but I disagree with the comment above that social networking sites are negatively impacting our society. I’m not attempting to say that there are not negative impacts of social networking, I just believe that, in many cases, social networking is not being used intelligently to make the most of whatever individual or organization it’s portraying. I also am interested in how social relationships are increasingly transforming themselves into technological relationships, and am excited to see how that pans out in the course as well.

Leave a Reply

