Week 9: Library 2.0

This week’s discussion is focused on Web 2.0 and how it affects libraries.  Of particular interest this week was the folksonomies created by tagging.  One cannot go anywhere on the internet without seeing tagged content.  I add tags to this blog that I think are relevant, but in many spaces users/readers are tagging the content that they find.  Although I am not a tagger, nor do I participate in any social media, one site I do love for its tagging is LibraryThing, a wonderful Library 2.0 tool.  Many times I run out of authors to read, and because I am a member of LibraryThing, I can sign in and click on a book in my library and find recommendations, both from the site itself and it algorithms as well as from other users.  LibraryThing like other recommender systems aggregates the data from its users in order to make recommendations.  If you have an Amazon account, you know what this is.  If you like, then you may like . . .  Library user data if used can be very helpful in the library when readers would like to find something similar to what they know they enjoy, making books selection an easier task.

Speaking of books, we also read about ebooks.  Last year for the first time ebook sales surpassed print sales.  Readers are falling in love with their Kindles, Nooks, iPads, etc.  Availability of titles from Amazon or Barnes and Noble has allowed ereading to skyrocket.  Libraries are doing their best to keep up with the ereader phenomenon, but unfortunately, costs and title availability from the publishers are preventing library patrons to have access to the titles they may most want.  The following link exhibits how most best sellers are not being offered by their publishers to libraries and if they are, the exorbitant cost of these titles.  In order for library users to be satisfied with the available etitles, publishers and libraries are going to have to find common ground. PDF of the Top Twenty Bestsellers and Their Availability

Interesting articles relating to ebooks:
AAP Reports US eBook Sales Up 46% in 2012, Now Well Over a Fifth of US Book Market
The Big 6 – eBooks in Libraries
21 Book Publishing Predictions for 2013: Indie Ebook Authors Take Charge
Libraries Can’t Buy Many of Amazon’s Ebook Hits: January 2013 Ebook Report from DCL
ALA applauds Macmillan Publishers’ entry into library market

This entry was posted in Data, Social Informatics and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Week 9: Library 2.0

  1. garth12 says:

    Taylor I really appreciated your comments about ebooks and its impact upon libraries. On the surface the ereader is a wonderful device to store and move one’s library. But once again the original intent of bringing data to the masses may result in a two-tiered information society. I know that Dr. Potnis tires of hearing me complain about the financial realities of the 2.0 and 3.0 but, this will only get more expensive as it becomes more lucrative.

  2. ccummins78 says:

    Hey Taylor,
    Really great job this week and I do agree with Garth on your comments about the impact of ebooks upon libraries. I also had no idea about the website Library Thing. How cool was that. I sit in the same boat with you on the tagging issue as I do not use social media much and never really knew what tagging was until this class. I think technology once again takes life and moves it to a whole new level. If you think of how far printed material has come over the last 100 years it is amazing. I do feel in one sense that it may have taken things a little far-if I would ask one of my students to go to our library and use (if we had one) a card catalog or had them write a report about a specific topic and did not allow them to use the internet-I honestly dont think they could do it. But who am I kidding, its been so long for me in that idea that I dont know if I could either. ha-great job this week.
    Chris

Leave a Reply

